Posted by: shannynmoore | September 4, 2008

“Bitter-Proud”?

How is it for uber conservative African Americans to watch the stirring speeches of Barack Obama? A strong voice, matching skin to their own, and saying something they don’t believe in? This is such a strange feeling. Is there such an emotion as “bitter-proud”?

I have more in common in with Sarah Palin than most anyone I know. Raised in small town Alaska, both my parents public school teachers, local pageants, hunting, commercial fishing, and a great pride in the independence and strength in being an Alaskan woman. Sarah Palin was polished, coached, and she knocked it out of the park tonight. She looked beautiful, stunning and natural to the country. I know the comfort of ExtraTuf Boots and fish gear, and so does Sarah. Part of me is so proud. Hell, a few weeks ago I was sticking it to her on the air for tampering with a ballot initiative campaign.

I’m happy for her that she did her absolute brilliant best. But, I know the record. I know how she has governed without a clean up crew. I know what she’s vetoed. I know it has hurt us. Her snarky remarks about Barack Obama didn’t surprise many who know her up close, but was out of character as a campaigner. The pitbull with lipstick. I have seen the sweet side of her, and recognized that as well. I knew the lines written so clearly for her, because I know her voice. The record on how she cut funding to special education will come out, the debt created for the town of Wasilla, the truth about the FBI giving corruption a run for their money. Not showing up to support Denali Kid Care, to support pregnant women and children. Her priorities are on record.

My dad always said, “There’s no such thing as ‘just a girl'”. So, I sit in my pride of an Alaskan woman who has made the World’s Stage, and I know I can’t, in good conscience, vote for John McCain or Sarah Palin…and I get it…”Bitter-Proud”.


Responses

  1. I know what you mean. I am rooting for her but OMG! The push pull! Go Sarah!!! Wait! Oh NOOOOoooo…Not the big red machine! NOT JOHN McCAIN!!!!! Barack needs to appoint 3 new Supreme Court Justices…then Sarah can go play…

  2. Dear Shannyn, I live in California and remember when Reagan was running for president. Those of us who knew how bad he was as governor wished we had a way to let the rest of the country know what we knew. More and more people are finding their way to Alaska’s progressive bloggers, looking for the information we need to help stop the Palin juggernaut. Thanks for what you do and keep up the good work.

  3. […] Moore, also an Alaska woman, daughter of teachers, “Bitter-Proud”? (hard to read theme so use your own style […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

