Posted by: shannynmoore | August 2, 2009

Congressman Young a Widower

donluSadly, Lu Young died today in her home. She was 66 years old and had been married to Don Young for 46 years.  Anyone who visited the Congressman knew she was usually right there with him.

There are politicians who I don’t agree with often, but still respect aspects of them.  Don and Lu Young had an obvious love for each other and he referred to her often.

RIP, Lu Young.  Today isn’t about politics for Don Young, it’s about losing the love of his life, and he has my deepest sympathies.


Responses

  1. While I deplore Congressman Young’s politics, I still feel sympathy for his loss.

    Well written, Shannyn.

  2. My heart goes out to Don Young for his loss.

  3. Well stated sympathies Shannyn, I concur.

  4. My heart was heavy when I heard that Congressman Don Young’s wife, Lu Young had passed away. Lu Young was a very kind hearted and genuine person, friendly, soft spoken, humorous and warm. She was an inspiration to him in all that he accomplished for Alaska and The United States of America. She was always there and always had a voice. I am happy to have received a big hug from her during Congressman Young’s visit to The Alaska Black Chamber of Commerce luncheon. Over the years I’ve known them, she was his life source. He is however a strong man, he will move forward, thankful for the opportunity to have known such an awesome lady that was his wife. My best to Don Young and his family, immediate and extended. She will be missed by many.

  5. My deepest sympathies go out to Mr Young. I am glad to see that they had such a long time together, and while it may not ease the pain, that will come with time, and the length of time that they had together will provide a tremendous amount of happy memories to look back upon.

  6. I am sorry to hear of Don Young’s loss of his beloved wife…

    I wonder if Buttercup will be gracious enough to give a statement?
    Wouldn’t that be expected from a xGINO?

  7. My condolences to Representative Young. How hard it must be to lose someone you loved so much for so long. My sympathy also to all the others who knew and loved her.

  8. My heart also goes out to Congressman Young and his family over the loss of his beloved wife and their mother.

    There is going to be a huge void in his life and he will so miss her constant support and love. That saddens me.

  9. I’m very sorry to hear this. He always spoke so warmly of her and it was obvious he loved her very much. My condolences to the family.

  10. I’m very sorry to hear of Ms. Lu’s passing. She was a sweet, high spirited, & smart lady. My condolences to Rep Young and his family. Ms. Lu will be missed.

  11. I also want to send my condolences from Oregon to Representative Young, whose actions about “family values” spoke louder, clearer, and more persuasively than anyone else’s words.

  12. This must be a very difficult time for Rep. Young. I feel for him in his loss.

  13. Deepest condolences to Don Young on the loss of his beloved wife. I don’t agree with his politics and can’t believe that a man who had a love so deep could be so divisive. Bless you Congressman on your loss.

  14. Thank you, Shannyn, for giving homage to a very sweet person. Sympathies to Rep. Young at this difficult time.

  15. Lu looks absolutely beautiful, and obviously had a smile that wouldn’t quit. May her memories stay close and her smile, too. So sorry Rep. Young for the earthly loss of your lovely wife. She will never truly leave since your heart now holds her home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

