Posted by: shannynmoore | November 6, 2009

OBAMA: NORTH TO ALASKA

THIS JUST IN:obama_sc_04_01_2007-731285

The president will stop Wednesday at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Anchorage to refuel Air Force One. While in Alaska, he’ll mark the Veterans Day holiday with the military personnel at the base, the White House said.

His stopover in Alaska will come after the White House Veterans Day breakfast and a wreath-laying ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknowns at Arlington National Cemetery. The White House described the Elmendorf stop as “an event with the men and women of our Armed Forces,” and said that more details would be released in the coming days. It’s not clear whether the event will be open to the public.

Oh, Lord, not sure if I’ll get to go or not…but I’m waiting for Sarah Palin’s facebook comment in…3…2…..1…


Responses

  1. Thrilling! Maybe you’ll get something good for your show, Shannyn.

  2. I hope you get to go … I hope all of you get to go and see him! I’d probably be excited just to see the plane and know he was there! Love and hugs to all of you in AK.

  3. As part of the “media”– television and radio show – Shannyn should be able to get press passes.

  4. Just keep your eye out for Teabaggers if you get to go, Shannyn. Those wackos are so unhinged, no telling what they will do.

  5. Hope you do get in to see President Obama Shannyn, as Polly pointed you’re the “media”. And please someone who has a stronger stomach than mine check Palin’s FB for what will be her no doubt brilliant response. To think of her reaction makes me smile!

  6. Shannyn,
    Definitely take advantage of your ” Press credentials ” to see if you can get close enough… and if you asked Him a question… YIKES!! Take deep breaths.

    You could always say you were a close Friend of Keith Olberman as well. Whatever works.

  7. I read that this trip may be postponed so that the president can attend a memorial for the Ft. Hood dead.

  8. Shannyn, You deserve a shot at attending
    as we all get to live vicariously through your proggressive antics. Thanks for all you do!!

  9. Shannyn and all of you Alaskan Obama supporters out there…

    Just now as I was watching Anchorage Edition on PBS the host Michael Carey said – Obama will be coming to Alaska sooner than he had previously indicated; tomorrow he is making a brief stopover at a military base (Eielson AFB if I remember correctly) on his was to the East –

    This excited me enough to rev up my laptop and write a post here. And I’m wondering who else might be thinking along these lines….

    Is there a way we can group up to display our support as he zooms through our state? Spontaneous groups gathering on street corners, etc. I’m sure many organizers out there can find the best way to create a great showing of support from the people.

    I for one would sure like President Obama to see me in the crowd, my flag waving and hear my voice of appreciation!

    Even though I’m down here in Homer and its logistically impossible to travel up to Eielson, I’m hoping those who can participate in such a show of support will find the way to do so.

    So, what do you think?

    • Oops excuse me, sorry for the duplication

  10. Shannyn and all of you Alaskan Obama supporters out there…

    Just now as I was watching Anchorage Edition on PBS the host Michael Carey said – Obama will be coming to Alaska sooner than he had previously indicated; tomorrow he is making a brief stopover at a military base (Eielson AFB if I remember correctly) on his was to the East –

    This excited me enough to rev up my laptop and write a post here. Because I’m wondering who else might be thinking along these lines….

    Is there a way we can group up to display our support as he zooms through our state? Spontaneous groups gathering on street corners, etc. I’m sure many organizers out there can find the best way to create a great showing of support from the people.

    I for one would sure like our President to see me in the crowd, my Earth flag waving and hear my voice of appreciation!

    Even though I’m here in Homer and its logistically impossible to travel up to Eielson, I’m hoping those who can participate in such a show of support will find the way to do so.

    So, what do you think?

    (Gosh if there was any snow we could use our bodies to write out our greeting that he could read from his airplane!)

  11. “Lady, you think free market is eBay.” Classic, Shannyn. Great article!


Leave a Reply

Categories

