Posted by: shannynmoore | April 28, 2009

RADIO NOWHERE; KUDO Changes…Again.

Today, news filtered down on programming changes at KUDO 1080AM Radio, “Alaska’s Progressive Voice.”  It may feel like a sad day for many of us, and many of those reasons are personal and valid.  For me, it has been a sad year for Alaska’s Progressive Voice.

I was hired as a first time broadcaster by Larry Bell, business manager for the IBEW 1547.  We were sitting next to each other on a long flight.  We kicked up a conversation about Alaska politics.  I was on my way to my grandmother’s funeral.  I instantly liked Larry, he reminded me of my pop; principled, disciplined, looking for the best in everyone and a “by the book” man of his word.  He proved my first impression right at every turn.

When the IBEW bought a radio station, I thought it was brilliant investment.  They would finally have a voice to counter the national and local right wing, fascist voices dominating and spinning lies disguised as opinion on the airwaves of Anchorage.

The radio medium is high drama; egos, ratings, money, pressure, balancing entertainment with content, equipment failures, duct tape solutions; and an occasional mouse in the studio.

Progressive Radio is no different.  However, the stakes seem higher than just ratings alone.  Those stakes are about elections and quality of life.  Municipal elections, local energy co-op elections, important state and national legislation as well as social issues have all been affected by the mosquito fleet of listeners who picked up their phones and called City Hall, Juneau and Washington.  The “Ku-Dawgs” and their daily doses of “Vitamin Democracy” forced CHANGE.

Last Spring, the political landscape in Anchorage shifted to the left.  KUDO had 7 hours of local programming between my show, Cutting Edge with CC, and the Aaron Selbig Show.  We had a record Democratic Caucus turnout-1,700% higher than the last presidential election caucus.  Hundreds of listeners showed up at assembly meetings and participated in their government.  Folks showed up en masse at protests.  The Anchorage Assembly turned blue.  All of the progressive initiatives on the ballot passed.

This red town was being painted blue one stroke at a time.  It was progressive nirvana approaching a blue state of mind.  KUDO was a huge part of that change.  It was a time not seen before or since in Anchorage radio.

I support the Union.  I still believe their decision to buy KUDO 1080AM was one of the most progressive moves a union could make.  A year ago, a contract was signed with TATI broadcasting and Cary Carrigan.  On Day One, Aaron Selbig was fired along with with several others.  Cary Carrigan became Program Director and host of a new 3 hour morning show.

Arbitron books cost stations’ thousands of dollars. The lifeblood of a station is determined by those books.  No one ever changes direction in the middle of a book; let alone a book that would reflect the tremendous political change that just occurred in Anchorage.  That was the first of many unprecedented and detrimental changes that would occur under Carrigan’s direction.

Two months later, after much stress and inconsistent programming, (Cary moved my show from the highest rated time slot to the lowest, sliced it in half, and inserted a half hour gold infomercial at the beginning) I was fired.  A week later, I had a meeting at TATI with Mike Robbins and Cary to put bread on the water.  I had new sponsors lined up for my show’s return.  I had the union’s support.  I even promised to behave…they said no. They told me they weren’t renewing my contract-code for “you’re fired!”

Until now, I have never written about what happened to me at KUDO except to say how much I love and support the union.  I still do.  I wanted to take the high road.

I haven’t suffered because of Cary and Mike’s decision.  Neither has the very happy, new Homer resident and Homer News reporter, Aaron Selbig.  CC, to her credit, has hung in there under what I can only imagine to be regressive circumstances.

In a year dominated with the expansion of the Corrupt Bastards Club, Sarah Palin’s Vice Presidential run, Ted Steven’s indictment-conviction-election loss and subsequent conviction reversal, AND Mark Begich’s election as the first Alaska Democrat to go to Washington since I was 10.  KUDO should have been on the NATIONAL map, and yet, they couldn’t crawl out of the cellar according to the Arbitron ratings.

When I was paid for my radio life at KUDO, it was never lost on me that every dime was from an hour of a union members time.  Those same dollars were squandered by Cary Carrigan and Mike Robbins at TATI.

CC knows being a progressive isn’t just what you talk about on the air…it’s who you are…and she is an amazing woman and activist. What happened to KUDO is in no way reflective of CC, she is nothing short of valiant.

Cary would broadcast from Home Depot if he was offered a hardware show.  He’s a mic whore; it’s different.

The decision to cut bait (local programming) by the Union for having their voice on their station is self explanatory.  The baby leftward steps we have made as a community are in some part because of the thousands of un-returned dollars put up by the men and women of the IBEW local 1547.

ccticket


Responses

  1. Listening to CC now. I liked her and am sorry for her.

    I won’t miss Cary. I cry NO TEARS for him. CC said something about Cary not getting the chance to say good-bye. That, my friends is called Karma.

    Guess what? Cary didn’t give Aaron and Shannyn the chance to say goodbye-and, unlike Cary, their shows DIDN’T SUCK!!!

    Maybe CC can get picked up somewhere.

    Although nearing the end of her KUDO Show, CC has not said anything about the old days with Aaron and Shannyn…that would have been nice…

  2. Feels like someone just kicked me in the junk. And I’m a chick…
    All too familiar, with flashbacks of last year….
    I know you all are on to new and grander journeys..but those of us who listen? WwwaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!!!!

  3. I miss those days… I got a question for you…did the union hire you straight out of broadcasting school or did they give you training? Either way you’re a natural!

    **********NOTE FROM SHANNY**********
    I never went to broadcasting school…they gave me a show and said “Don’t F it up.” I have to say, Aaron Selbig, CC, Dante Zahler, Bill Scannell (Adopted Cheechako) and Steve Heimel were remarkably generous with their suggestions, praise and criticisms…and they are why I stayed with it when I was dry heaving from nerves.

  4. I guess I won’t have to piss in Mic Whore’s boots after all. The man was a total bore. He never made any interesting correlations of his own, he would just reiterate Randy Rhodes or Thom Hartman. I hope he never takes up space in Progressive Radio again.

    You on the other hand, have landed a most precipious position of hosting a liberal POV show on a conservative station? Girl, you gotta be good to do that! It is an interesting mix between you and the conservative audience, who most likely have just stumbled upon your show and are hearing a real live local human being honestly express a compassionate and ethical political voice on their favorite conservative station. They come at you with their spoon fed disinformation and most times you politely smack their reasoning out of the park. I was sceptical at first, but now I see it as a great move to actually confront these unquestioning listeners who swallow everything they are told.

    You are doing great Shannyn. I am so glad I moved back to Alaska and found you here. Keep striving to make Alaska a better place for us all.

    I would still love to have you back on KUDO though, 5 days a week.

  5. Well…this is a mixed day.

    I’m sorry to see CC go-she was the only thing worth listening to on KUDO. Almost always, it’s a losing situation when local voices get silenced-except in Cary’s case.

    But karma kame a kallin’ on Kary Karrigan today. Cary first fired Aaron and then after 2 months of jacking Shannyn around, he fired her-although he was never man enough to admit it-when asked, he would say Shannyn didn’t renew her contract.

    Cary polluted the airwaves 3 hours a day with mindless parroted drivel-not an original thought in the man’s head. Normally, I would never crack a smile at someone’s loss, except in Cary’s case. Good F’ing Riddance! Don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out! You should definitely find new line of work-maybe there’s an early morning weather slot somewhere.

    The timing of this change is no accident. The IBEW honors their contracts. They weren’t happy when Cary and Mike fired Shannyn-she was pretty much THE voice of the union. That contract was signed a year ago yesterday. Aaron was fired a year ago today. The union honored the contract agreement they had with Tati.

    Also, if an advertiser came into Tati and wanted to advertise, they were directed to Mike’s other stations. The IBEW signed a deal with the devil and now it’s done.

    Good Luck CC.

  6. Shannyn, I’m sorry to see CC go. It would be great if she could get a gig where you are at. She is very nice person.
    Also can you please announce your show late Sat afternoon? I am not local so I must listen on the tubes 🙂
    It would be great if you guys could takeover that radio station…lol! I can’t stand Smurk!

  7. What’s wrong with KWMD ?

  8. Shannyn it would be great if you could announce late Saturday afternoon for those of us who are not local. I am so sorry about CC but being a total believer in karma I am sure that something even better is coming her way.

  9. I have a friend at the union that was close to this whole thing; Cary gambled and lost. I’ll miss CC-maybe she’ll wind up somewhere else. But it was Cary’s decision to fire Aaron (the #2 rated show at the time) and Shannyn (the #1 rated show on KUDO). I remember listening to Cary thinking he would improve…he never did. So…while I agree it’s tough to lose local programming-this is certainly NO SURPRISE. This is what happens when a Program Director has his own show; ego clouds judgement.

  10. CC, you are an inspiration to all of us. Keep on keepin on my friend, scores of us worldwide are hoping you find your way back to the airwaves. I too am done with KUDO. I listened to them exclusively for three years. Your voice and Shannyn’s are a beacon of light for so many. Because of you and your steadfast dedication, many Alaskan’s have been fed both literally and spiritually. I hope you know you are loved and we will wait patiently for you to return to the airwaves. Please don’t be gone long…

  11. You are going to be greatly missed, CC. I anxiously waited for 6P.M. (Iowa Time) to listen to Cutting Edge. You made KUDO worth listening to–I will not be listening to KUDO ever again–the fun is gone. Today has been a very bad day!!

  12. I made a comment about this on facebook to Les Gara … now I’m going to post this link … the Glass/Steagal act needs to be reinstated NOW!

  13. pretty depressing turning on radio the other morning and having to hear “the best of cary carrigan” the 1st time was bad enough , sure didn’t need a repeat….. sure would like to hear Aaron on the air waves again… lots of talent and wit

  14. cc will be on kwmd monday at 5p. kwmd originates on 90.7 kasilof/kenai/soldotna and has translators in anchorage on 104.5 (south anchorage), 92.5 (north anchorage/eagle river), and 87.7 (anchorage generally)

  15. I have been listening to KUDO since before Aaron Selbig and possibly before it was bought by IBEW. I used to like to listen to Stephanie Miller in the morning, and at first I didn’t really care for the local programming, but that changed over time. It was great to have local issues to focus on, and a place to call in my opinion, without having to wait on hold in competition with callers from all over the country.

    Even though I didn’t like Cary as much as Aaron, he was still talking about local issues. I am really going to miss that. I used to call in to Aaron, Cary and CC sometimes multiple times a day. I felt tremendously empowered the afternoon I got worked up about Talis Colberg’s action advising government employees to ignore subpoena’s and got the idea to call in to CC and advise the listeners to file an ethics complaint with the Anchorage Bar Association. I gave the website to CC where the complaint form could be found. That was mid-week and on the following Saturday the outrage morphed into a rally where a petition to recall Mr. Colberg was circulated. I was so gratified when he resigned, and felt for the first time that my outrage was turned into constructive action with the help of like-minded listeners.

    I felt a similar surge of empowerment when the legislature listened to us and turned down Wayne Anthony Ross as Colberg’s replacement. Will our momentum be blunted by a lack of a local voice on the only progressive station (that I know of) in this state?

    I resent the fact that the web site at KUDO doesn’t even mention the change, except in the programming line-up link. I would have liked to have an explanation of what happened and why right on the front page of the web-site. Why didn’t that happen? Do the people making the decisions at KUDO think the listeners don’t care or don’t want to know? I am sure I will still listen to KUDO as I don’t want a progressive voice to be absent from my community, but it won’t be the same until our local voices are heard on it. Now I have to go Google Arbitron books to try to understand what happened. Very sad…..

  16. HI SHANNON!

    GREETINGS FROM THE FOX CREEK CANYON BUSH RAT. I’M SO GLAD I FOUND YOU AFTER YOUR KUDO DISAPPEARANCE!

    KUDO QUIT COMING IN HERE–REAL SCRATCHY. AND FROM YOU I NOW FIND CC WAS AXED TOO.

    WELL ALL THE BEST TO AARON AND CC BUT YOUR SHOW WAS TOPS. CC HAD ZERO COMPREHENSION OF AK BUSH ISSUES AND NO REGARD FOR WILDLIFE.

    JUST ONE SHORT EXAMPLE–RE: DRIFT RIVER AND VOLCANO ERUPTIONS SHE COULDN’T UNDERSTAND THE IMPORTANCE OF COOK INLET BELUGA WHALES AN ENDAGERED SPECIES AND POSSIBLE MASSIVE OIL SPILLS.

    “I COULD CARE LESS ABOUT BELUGA WHALES. I’M TALKING ABOUT THE DANGERS OF THE VOLCANOE ERUPTING NEXR TO THE DRIFT RIVER OIL STORAGE SITE,” SHE SAID.

    DUH, CC EVER HERE OF THE EXXON SPILL AND WHAT IT DID TO THE PRINCE WILLIAM SOUND ECOSYSTEM?

    OH WELL THAT’S WHY WE NEED ALASKANS LIKE YOU, NOT EAST COAST IMPORTS!

    I WILL TRY TO FIND YOU ON KBYR. A FIRST GLANCE FAILED.

    ALL THE BEST,
    INGRID


Leave a comment

Categories